US SMALL CLAIMS COURTS Money & Personal Property Dispute Resolution
Small claims courts are a fast, simple and inexpensive way for individuals and business to settle disputes and disagreements.
The rules for handling a small claim vary from state to state. If you have a financial disagreement with another person or company that does not exceed the small claims limit in your State, you can bring the matter before a judge and get a ruling.
The procedures are simple enough for an individual to file a complain or to answer a claim without a lawyer.
The small claims court is a court with limited jurisdiction and cannot award more than the limit even if your claim worth more.
You cannot have a jury trial in small claims court.
You may be entitle to recover your court costs and interests.
The decision is final and biding on both parties.
Small claims hearings are official court cases designed to be a relaxed, quick and inexpensive method for consumers and businesspeople to settle minor claims.
The plaintiff (individual bringing the case to court) will usually want to sue in the court in the county where he or she lives or do business.
Small claims limits change from time to time. The plaintiff must ask the court clerk what is the maximum amount of claim currently allowed by the state law.
The maximum amount you may sue or be sued in this court in
Alabama is $3,000.00
Alaska is $7,500.00
Arizona is $2,500.00
Arkansas is $5,000.00
California is $5,000.00
Colorado is $7,500.00
Connecticut is $3,500.00
Delaware is $15,000.00
Florida is $5,000.00
Georgia is $15,000.00
Hawaii is $3,500.00
IDAHO is $4,000.00
ILLINOIS is $5,000.00
Indiana is $3,000.00 ($6,000.00 in Marion and Allen counties)
DISCLAIMER: The law will vary depending on your state and the specifics of your case. The information provided by USAttorneyLegalServices.com is intended for educational purposes only. All the content on this website should NOT be considered professional legal advice or a substitute for professional legal advice. For such services, we recommend getting a free initial consultation by a licensed Attorney in your State.